I think my job is bad for me


It really might be, because probably about 90% of the time that I spend here is occupied by nothing.  I’m here 100% of the time I’m supposed to be, only working about 10%.  That leaves a LOT of free time.  And I used to share an office with someone, so at least I had someone to talk to, but no more.  She left for bigger and better things.  And I used to have a work wife too, but she’s in different buildings from me for 4 out of the 5 working days in the week now, so there goes that too.  HH’s work is a fucking Zoo and I can barely even hear her if I try to call her.  Most other people I know actually have jobs where they DO things during the day, and so, are too busy to sit on the phone and try to entertain me.

So yeah, I’m left to my own devices for like 8 hours a day.  I’m getting bored with the internet.  I just got a Droid X and I’m already sorta bored with that.  There’s only so many times you can refresh Facebook to see what the other humans who have actual lives are doing.  And, more often than not, it pisses me off because there’s all these people out there, doing things, and I’m sitting here in a dark little cave of an office by myself.  There’s also a lovely period of time during the last and first week of the month in which I’m not allowed to update any of my files, because they are being “uploaded to the system”.  Why on earth ANYTHING takes 2 weeks to update in this day and age is beyond me, but it’s like I come to work to not even be able to do what little WORK I actually have.  How’s that for retarded?  We need you to come to work, but just sit there.  Don’t actually do anything.  Yes, of course, we’re still going to pay you.

And there’s the rub, cause whenever I say anything about my not-working job status, people automatically think it’s a good thing.  “Wow, I wish I got paid to do nothing.”  No, dude, you do not.  You think that it sounds like a good idea, until you actually have to do it.  Big, fat, smelly, stinky NOTHING all day, 5 days a week.  Oh, and yeah, I almost forgot.  They make me travel to CT once a week to go and do nothing over there.  And yes, they pay my travel expenses for that too.  Score, right?  No.  Two to two and a half hours of traffic each way for a 40 mile drive is not my idea of fun.

Do you have any idea how long 8 hours is when you have to just sit there?  Do you know what it’s like to look up at your clock, see that it’s only 10:30 in the morning and you feel like you’ve been sitting there for half your life already?  Well I do, and it sucks.

It’s my blog, and I’ll whine if I want to.

One thought on “I think my job is bad for me

Leave a Reply

